Juniper & Thorn: A Novel (Hardcover)

Juniper & Thorn: A Novel Cover Image
$27.99
On Our Shelves Now
100 Bloomfield St. - Downtown
3 on hand, as of Jun 24 2:18am
(Fiction)

Description


From highly acclaimed, bestselling author Ava Reid comes a gothic horror retelling of The Juniper Tree, set in another time and place within the world of The Wolf and the Woodsman, where a young witch seeks to discover her identity and escape the domination of her abusive wizard father, perfect for fans of Shirley Jackson and Catherynne M. Valente.

A gruesome curse. A city in upheaval. A monster with unquenchable appetites. 

Marlinchen and her two sisters live with their wizard father in a city shifting from magic to industry. As Oblya’s last true witches, she and her sisters are little more than a tourist trap as they treat their clients with archaic remedies and beguile them with nostalgic charm. Marlinchen spends her days divining secrets in exchange for rubles and trying to placate her tyrannical, xenophobic father, who keeps his daughters sequestered from the outside world. But at night, Marlinchen and her sisters sneak out to enjoy the city’s amenities and revel in its thrills, particularly the recently established ballet theater, where Marlinchen meets a dancer who quickly captures her heart.

As Marlinchen’s late-night trysts grow more fervent and frequent, so does the threat of her father’s rage and magic. And while Oblya flourishes with culture and bustles with enterprise, a monster lurks in its midst, borne of intolerance and resentment and suffused with old-world power. Caught between history and progress and blood and desire, Marlinchen must draw upon her own magic to keep her city safe and find her place within it.

About the Author


Ava Reid was born in Manhattan and raised right across the Hudson River in Hoboken, but currently lives in Palo Alto. She has a degree in political science from Barnard College, focusing on religion and ethnonationalism. 

Praise For…


“Utterly astonishing. This masterful, complex retelling conjures the pure horror of powerlessness as modernity crashes into tradition, and bodies are transformed and consumed. Juniper & Thorn is the dark fairytale brought to perfection: terrible, and true, and full of teeth.”
Shelley Parker-Chan, bestselling author of She Who Became the Sun

“In this baroque Grimm retelling, Reid proves again that theirs is a powerful and essential voice. Through Marlinchen – a layered and unforgettable heroine, brought to life with immense compassion – she tells a tale of fear and survival, hope and yearning and defiance, in timelessly elegant prose. It will enchant you, break your heart, and chill you to the very marrow.”
Samantha Shannon, bestselling author of The Priory of the Orange Tree

"Reid fully embraces the darkness of the original tale while adding enough twists to make the story her own. Grimms’ fairy tale fans—and those who like their fairy tales grim—will be thrilled." — Publishers Weekly (starred review)

"This is a dark and bloody tale, full of magic both otherworldly and familiar, and despite its monsters, it reads like comfort. After you read it, you'll start saving space on your shelf for Ava Reid."
Kendare Blake, #1 NYT bestselling author of Three Dark Crowns

"This riveting, atmospheric dark fantasy unflinchingly explores the disturbing roots of classic fairy tales." — Buzzfeed

“Haunting and great.” — Paste Magazine

"A gothic masterpiece. Reid weaves threads of unsettling horror and abuse with astonishing empathy."
Kat Dunn, author of Dangerous Remedy

“Reid expertly weaves a dark and delightful tale that packs a sting. Love, betrayal, and a heroine for our time. I absolutely loved this novel.”
T. L. Huchu, author of The Library of the Dead

“Ava Reid’s spellbinding prose will draw you deep into this dark fantasy about three gifted sisters who are trapped by the magic of their wizard father. Thrumming with feminist power, and riveting in its worldbuilding, Juniper & Thorn is an unforgettable tale.”
Ausma Zehanat Khan, author of The Bladebone



Product Details
ISBN: 9780062973160
ISBN-10: 0062973169
Publisher: Harper Voyager
Publication Date: June 21st, 2022
Pages: 320
Language: English