Instructions for Dancing (Hardcover)

Instructions for Dancing Cover Image
$19.99
On Our Shelves Now
100 Bloomfield St. - Downtown
1 on hand, as of Oct 12 1:18am
(Young Adult)

May/June 2021 Kids Indie Next List


“Evie is still dealing with her parents' divorce when she gains the ability to see a vision of a couple's romantic future together when they kiss: from the meet-cute all the way to the end (and it seems like there's always an end). Bitter about both developments in her life, she meets a handsome young man named X who becomes her ballroom dancing partner. But should she fall for him, knowing there's probably inevitable heartache? I laughed, I cried, I rooted for Evie and X to make it work.”
— Stefani Kelley, The Book Nook (TX), Brenham, TX

Description


AN INSTANT #1 NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER

"A charming, wholehearted love story that's sure to make readers swoon."—Entertainment Weekly

"Nicola Yoon writes from the heart in this beautiful love story."—Good Morning America

“It’s like an emotional gut punch—so beautiful and also heart-wrenching."—US Weekly

In this romantic page-turner from the author of Everything, Everything and The Sun is Also a Star, Evie has the power to see other people’s romantic fateswhat will happen when she finally sees her own?

Evie Thomas doesn't believe in love anymore. Especially after the strangest thing occurs one otherwise ordinary afternoon: She witnesses a couple kiss and is overcome with a vision of how their romance began . . . and how it will end. After all, even the greatest love stories end with a broken heart, eventually.

As Evie tries to understand why this is happening, she finds herself at La Brea Dance Studio, learning to waltz, fox-trot, and tango with a boy named X. X is everything that Evie is not: adventurous, passionate, daring. His philosophy is to say yes to everything--including entering a ballroom dance competition with a girl he's only just met.

Falling for X is definitely not what Evie had in mind. If her visions of heartbreak have taught her anything, it's that no one escapes love unscathed. But as she and X dance around and toward each other, Evie is forced to question all she thought she knew about life and love. In the end, is love worth the risk?

About the Author


Nicola Yoon is the author of the #1 New York Times bestsellers The Sun Is Also a Star and Everything, Everything, both of which were turned into major motion pictures. She grew up in Jamaica and Brooklyn and lives in Los Angeles with her husband—the novelist David Yoon—and their little girl. She’s also a hopeless romantic who firmly believes that you can fall in love in an instant and that it can last forever.

Praise For…


Praise for INSTRUCTIONS FOR DANCING:

A 2021 Kids' Indie Next List Selection

A New York Times "10 YA Books to Add to Your Reading List This Summer" title

A GMA June pick

A Junior Library Guild selection 

“No one can spark more joy with her writing than Nicola Yoon. Instructions for Dancing is poignant, heartbreaking at times, but woven throughout is hope, light, and love. Yoon has written yet another book that will live rent free in my heart.”Jesse Q. Sutanto, author of Dial A for Aunties

Evie’s, and Yoon’s, musings on life and love will be appreciated by Y.A. readers of all ages.” —New York Times

“Yoon's latest tackles the magic of first loves with unexpected gut punches tied together with meaningful storytelling.”—Buzzfeed

“Another stunning YA romance…”—PopSugar

"If you want a story to make you laugh and cry (and maybe even try to tango), Instructions for Dancing has just the touch of magic you’re looking for."—Apple Books

★ “An endearing, affecting exploration of the journey of love. Everything Yoon touches turns to gold and this cinematic supernatural romance will be no exception.”—Booklist, starred review

★ "A remarkable, irresistible love story that will linger long after readers turn the final page."—Kirkus, starred review

“Yoon delivers a story of love’s unpredictability and the importance of perspective that unfolds with ease and heart.”—Publishers Weekly, starred review

“A sweet, genuine love story sure to pull on the heartstrings.”—School Library Journal, starred review

“Yoon delivers this captivating story of first love with beautiful prose, clever dialogue that swings between laugh-out-loud funny and wildly insightful, clear respect for the complexity and nuance of her teen characters’ perspectives and emotions—and just enough magic to make it all truly unforgettable.”—BookPage, starred review

Praise for Everything, Everything and The Sun Is Also a Star by Nicola Yoon:

★ "An exhilarating, hopeful novel exploring identity, family, the love of science and the science of love, dark matter and interconnectedness--is about seeing and being seen and the possibility of love... and it shines." —Shelf Awareness, starred review 
 
★ “Moving and suspenseful.” —Publishers Weekly, starred review 

★ “Lyrical and sweeping, full of hope, heartbreak, fate. . . and the universal beating of the human heart." —Booklist, starred review

★ "Fresh and compelling." —The Horn Book, starred review

★ "With appeal to cynics and romantics alike, this profound exploration of life and love tempers harsh realities with the beauty of hope in a way that is both deeply moving and satisfying."—Kirkus, starred review

★ “A love story that is smart without being cynical, heartwarming without being cloying, and schmaltzy in all the best ways.”—The Bulletin, starred review

“[A] fresh, moving debut.” —Entertainment Weekly

“Gorgeous and lyrical.” —The New York Times Book Review

“Will give you butterflies.” —Seventeen

 “A do-not-miss for fans of John Green and Rainbow Rowell (aka everyone).” —Justine

 “YA book lovers, your newest obsession is here.”—MTV


Product Details
ISBN: 9781524718961
ISBN-10: 1524718963
Publisher: Delacorte Press
Publication Date: June 1st, 2021
Pages: 304
Language: English